Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
Share this page

Support Oregon PSR!

Join us in building a healthy environment and promoting sensible security policies. Make a donation to Oregon PSR today

Donate Now »

Heat Advisory: Protecting Health on a Warming Planet
by Dr. Alan Lockwood

Drawing on peer-reviewed scientific and medical research, Dr. Lockwood meticulously details the symptoms of climate change and their medical side effects.

On sale now! Enter code M17ENV25 at checkout for 25% discount.

You’re Invited! Hear from Oregon’s Youth on Peace and Climate Change on April 29th

April 29, 2016 - April 29, 2016
Portland, Oregon

2016 Greenfield Peace Writing Scholarship winners (left to right) Caroline Friesen, Kaylor MacLaughlin, and Nitan Avivi, with Dr. Pat O'Herron and Cecil Prescod at an April 18th KBOO Radio interview.

Thanks to all of you who came out to celebrate a new generation of peace and environmental activists at Oregon PSR’s 8th Annual Greenfield Peace Writing Scholarship Awards Ceremony.

Friday, April 29th6:00-8:00 PM

First Unitarian Church’s Buchan Reception Hall (1226 SW Salmon Street in Portland)

Free and open to the public, donations gratefully accepted.

Featuring Keynote Speaker journalist Dahr Jamail and the high school student winners of the 2016 Greenfield Peace Writing Scholarship.

Open to all Oregon high school juniors and seniors, the scholarship is an opportunity for young people to share their ideas regarding the most important issues of our time. This year’s scholarship asked students to respond to the following prompt:

“How would a successful movement to confront climate change help create a more just and peaceful world?”

Read the winning student entries below:

1st Place - Kaylor MacLaughlin, West Linn High School (West Linn, OR)

2nd Place - Caroline Friesen, Lincoln High School (Portland, OR)

3rd Place - Nitan Avivi, Beaverton High School (Beaverton, OR)

Honorable Mention - Ciara Chen, Lincoln High School (Portland, OR)

Honorable Mention - Lauren Weber, Century High School (Aloha, OR)

Honorable Mention - Rakiyah Mullings, Lincoln High School (Portland, OR)

Join us for remarks by Dahr Jamail, light hors d'oeuvres, tabling by Oregon PSR and partner organizations, and a chance to hear from Oregon's youth leaders for climate justice and peace.

Our distinguished panel of judges includes Joe Enlet, Amber Keller, Colin Kerosky, John Pearson, MD, Diana Rempe, PhD and Jan Zuckerman.

Listen to audio from the Monday, April 18th KBOO FM radio interview with the student winners.

View the press release for the 2016 Greenfield Peace Writing Scholarship and scholarship awards ceremony.

See photos from the  event on Facebook.