Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

Support Oregon PSR!

Join us in building a healthy environment and promoting sensible security policies. Make a donation to Oregon PSR today

Donate Now »

Take Action

Ask Congress to support the SANE Act to save $100 billion in nuclear weapons spending over the next 10 years.

Winners of Oregon PSR's 2011 Greenfield Peace Writing Contest Announced

Read the winning entries from Oregon's next generation of peace visionaries.

April 27, 2011

Our sincere appreciation to all of the students who entered the 2011 Greenfield Peace Writing Contest and shared with us their thoughts on a world without nuclear weapons. This is the fourth year Oregon PSR has sponsored a peace writing contest. The first was in 1988, organized by then Executive Director, Del Greenfield. In 2009, Oregon PSR revived the contest and named it in honor of Del Greenfield.

The intention of the contest is to encourage the next generation of Oregon's leaders to consider their role in promoting peace, and we are thrilled that so many students from all across the state have shared their thoughts with us. We hope this contest will foster discussion of the dangers of nuclear weapons and the importance of peace and justice issues in our high schools.

The high school student winners of Oregon PSR's Greenfield Peace Writing Contest were honored during our 30th Anniversary Dinner for their essays, poems and stories on ridding the world of nuclear weapons. The five students who were honored were chosen from 65 entries from across the state, responding to the question "What do we need to change to create a world without nuclear weapons?" The top three winners received a cash prize ($1000, $750, $500), a certificate signed by Oregon Governor John Kitzhaber and Nobel Peace Prize Laureate Jody Williams, and a one year membership in Oregon PSR. Two honorable mention winners received certificates.

First Prize was awarded to Erica Maranowski, a senior at Portland's Jefferson High School for her essay entitled "On Cultural Roots of Peace and Violence." Second Prize went to Tashina Rushlow, a junior at Ione Community School in Ione, Oregon for her poem "Darkness." Third Prize was awarded to Ethan Adelman-Sil, a junior at Cleveland High School in Portland for his story "Shadows." Honorable Mention was awarded to Maria Ramirez of Valley Catholic in Beaverton and Rebecca Jepsen of Ione Community School. To read the winning entries, please click on the students names above.

Judges for the peace writing contest included Goudarz Eghtedari, PhD of the American Iranian Friendship Council; Chisao Hata, Dance/theater artist and community activist; Laureen Nussbaum, PhD, PSU Foreign Language and Literature Professor Emerita; and Carol Urner, Women's International League for Peace and Freedom.


Share on Facebook
Share on MySpace
Share on Twitter
A short URL will be added to the end of your Tweet.

Share on LinkedIn