Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content

Support PSR!

Make a difference in the challenge to confront global warming and prevent nuclear war and the development and use of nuclear weapons.

Donate Now »

Take Action

Tell Congress you won’t support phony chemicals policy reform -- only real, health-protective reform.

Seminar Series: Coal's Assault on Human Health

February 15, 2012

Time: 9:00 am Alaska Time (10:00 am Pacific / 1:00 pm Eastern)

Join a teleconference discussion with Alan H. Lockwood, MD on the growing body of medical evidence linking coal development to human health risks.

At every stage – from mining, transportation, storage, combustion, and disposal of post-combustion wastes – coal development threatens human and environmental health.   Pollutants from coal damage all major organ systems in the human body and contribute to four of the five leading causes of death in the United States. 

Dr. Lockwood, Professor of Neurology at the University of Buffalo, is a member of Physicians for Social Responsiblity and is principal author of the PSR medical report "Coal's Assault on Human Health"  which takes a new look at the devastating impacts of coal on the human body. Coal combustion releases mercury, particulate matter, nitrogen oxides, sulfur dioxide, and dozens of other substances known to be hazardous to human health. This report looks at the cumulative harm inflicted by those pollutants on three major body organ systems: the respiratory system, the cardiovascular system, and the nervous system.

To join this free call and receive the dial-up instructions, please RSVP to Alaska Community Action on Toxics at heather@akaction.org or (907) 222-7714.

Action Alerts

More action alerts»

News

More »

Events

More »

Resources

In the Spotlight

  • April 25, 2014
    4th Annual Soul of Medicine Dinner
    Friday, April 25th. Chicago PSR's annual celebration, this year honoring Dr. David Ansell. Free for medical students.