Skip to Navigation
Skip to Content
Share this page

Support PSR!

Your membership supports PSR's work to reduce global warming, eliminate toxics in our environment and abolish nuclear weapons. YOU make our work possible. Thank you.

Donate Now »

Heat Advisory: Protecting Health on a Warming Planet
by Dr. Alan Lockwood

Drawing on peer-reviewed scientific and medical research, Dr. Lockwood meticulously details the symptoms of climate change and their medical side effects.

On sale now! Enter code M17ENV25 at checkout for 25% discount.

PSR supports the nomination of Allison Macfarlane as chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission

June 19, 2012


CONTACT: Morgan Pinnell, Safe Energy Program Manager, 202-587-5232

Washington, D.C.  Physicians for Social Responsibility (PSR) today announced its endorsement of Dr. Allison Macfarlane as chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC).

Macfarlane has been nominated by President Obama to complete retiring Chairman Gregory Jaczko’s term as chair of the NRC.

Dr. Catherine Thomasson, PSR’s executive director, called Macfarlane “an accomplished scientist whose expertise in geology and nuclear waste issues will give her strong qualifications to lead the NRC.”  

“Her strong, articulate and informed support for dry-cask storage of nuclear waste at reactor sites and her critical analysis of the unsuitability of the Yucca Mountain waste site demonstrate her sensible and informed approach to nuclear safety policy. In her position as a member of the Blue Ribbon Commission on America’s Nuclear Future, she exhibited an obvious commitment to public involvement, transparency, accountability, and consensus building, all critical elements much needed at the NRC.  These elements display an approach to management and an understanding of policy that will surely enable her to uphold the NRC’s critical primary responsibilities: protecting public health and safety, promoting the common defense and security, and protecting the environment.”

Physicians for Social Responsibility is the largest physician-led organization in the country conveying both the health risks and threats to human survival posed by nuclear weapons, climate change, nuclear reactors and toxic degradation of the environment. Founded in 1961 by physicians concerned about the impact of nuclear proliferation, PSR shared the 1985 Nobel Peace Prize with International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War for building public pressure to end the nuclear arms race. For more information, go to       


Action Alerts

More action alertsĀ»


In the Spotlight

  • April 28, 2018
    2018 Greenfield Peace Writing Scholarship Awards Ceremony
    Join Oregon PSR to celebrate the high school student winners of this year's scholarship. Featuring keynote speaker Marshallese anti-nuclear and climate activist and poet Kathy Jetnil-Kijiner. April 28 at 6 pm in Portland, Oregon.