All Categories

Chesapeake PSR holds rose ceremony for countries that helped ratify the Ban Treaty

On January 18, Chesapeake PSR hand-delivered certificates of appreciation “for moral and exemplary leadership” to the Washington DC embassies of the states that helped to ratify the Ban Treaty. They also presented each embassy with a rose to further express their gratitude for helping to move the world closer to zero nuclear weapons. This event, like many around the country in the coming days, celebrates the one year anniversary of the entry into force of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW).

The TPNW, referred to as the Ban Treaty, is the first legally binding international agreement to ban nuclear weapons. There are currently 86 signatories to the treaty and 59 states parties– meaning, they signed and ratified the treaty in their home governments. On October 24, 2020 Honduras became the 50th country to ratify the Ban Treaty, giving the treaty the 50 ratifications it required to enter into force. Ninety days later, on January 22, 2021, the TPNW entered into force, making nuclear weapons illegal under international law. For the one year anniversary, ICAN has gathered more than 100 national statements supporting and uplifting the TPNW. You can read the statements on ICAN’s website here.

PSR is a proud partner of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN), the coalition that is leading the charge on the Ban Treaty and growing support for the movement of nuclear abolition!

Support Chesapeake PSR